What Happens if You Get Caught Without a Motorcycle License?
Driving a car without a license can lead to repercussions from the law and the same applies to being caught driving without a motorcycle license.
States have different laws regarding motorcycles, but every state requires you to carry a motorcycle license, permit or endorsement. Depending where you are, you can get a motorcycle permit at 15 or 16 years of age or you can obtain a motorcycle license at 18 years of age. This typically involves a driver’s education course, vision test and written exam.
Although it may seem like a long process, it’s a necessary one to guarantee that you are ready to operate a motorcycle on the road with other vehicles. The penalties for being caught driving without a motorcycle license vary per state. In Texas, you could be looking to pay around a $195 fine for driving without a motorcycle endorsement. If you’re not carrying motorcycle insurance, you could be looking at a fine of $260 to $470. Keep in mind that the cost of these fines may change depending on your city and the violation that led to the police officer pulling you over. Certain traffic violations committed while you’re driving without a license could lead to fines as much as $1,000.
Can You Be Arrested for Driving Without a License?
There is a chance that you could be arrested for operating a motorcycle without a license. If this violation is one of many, you are more likely to pay a higher fine or even face jail time. If you are operating the motorcycle on a suspended license, you’re more likely to face a fine and jail time.
Driving without a motorcycle license also risks having your motorcycle impounded at your expense. If you are borrowing a friend’s motorcycle with permission, you may only face a fine and have the vehicle impounded.
What Motorcycle Insurance Do You Need in Texas?
Being caught without motorcycle insurance can also lead to fines and the impounding of your vehicle. Insurance requirements vary per state, but Texas bikers must carry at least:
- $30,000 in bodily injury liability per person
- $60,000 in bodily injury liability per accident
- $25,000 in property damage liability
If you don’t have a motorcycle license, it’s unlikely that you have motorcycle insurance. If you’re caught operating a motorcycle without either, you could face higher repercussions on top of your other traffic violations.